IRS News Release  
December 23, 1991

General Analytics Awarded
Telecommunications Contracts

WASHINGTON - General Analytics Corporation (GAC) today was awarded two more contracts that will provide telecommunications equipment and services for Internal Revenue Service and other Department of Treasury offices in ten central and southwest states for up to 10 years.

IRS said the contracts, valued at approximately $71 million, were awarded as part of the Department of Treasury Telecommunications Systems (DOTTS) program that will be implemented nationwide through the awarding of nine contracts for nine separate areas of the country.

The DOTTS contracts will provide voice and data telecommunications switching systems, electronic key systems, automated management information systems, wiring and support services ranging from design to training and maintenance. IRS said DOTTS would support its tax systems modernization by ensuring that IRS offices have the capability to be fully networked with on-line data retrieval and processing systems as these systems are put into operation.

The contract awarded to GAC today for the central area of the country covers Michigan, Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana and Ohio and is valued at $35 million. The contract for the southwest area covers Texas, Oklahoma, Kansas, Missouri and Arkansas and is valued at $36 million.

IRS said it is the executive contract agent for Treasury responsible for all phases of the DOTTS procurement and contract administration. The contracts to GAC are the seventh and eighth awarded competitively in the series of nine.

GAC, located in McLean, Va. is a small minority owned business. Earlier this month GAC was awarded the two DOTTS contracts covering Alaska and Hawaii, each valued at about $10 million. In May 1991, three DOTTS contracts valued at $123 million were awarded to AT&T for the northeast, southeast and midatlantic areas, and one valued at $39 million to US West for the midwest area.

The remaining DOTTS contract for the western area covering California and Nevada is expected to be awarded by March 1992.


1991 IRS News Releases | News Releases Main | Home