IRS News Releases  
IR-2008-45 March 18, 2008

The IRS Invites Taxpayers to Apply for Taxpayer Advocacy Panel;
Applications Now Being Accepted;
Deadline Is April 30

WASHINGTON - The Department of the Treasury, the Internal Revenue Service and the Taxpayer Advocacy Panel are committed to creating the most user-friendly, customer-oriented tax administration system possible.

Interested civic-minded individuals are needed to help improve the nation’s tax agency by applying to be members of the Taxpayer Advocacy Panel (TAP). The Panel provides a forum for citizens from each state to make suggestions regarding IRS decision making.

The mission of the panel is to listen to taxpayers, identify taxpayers’ issues and make recommendations for improving IRS service and customer satisfaction. TAP members:

• Provide opportunities for citizen input and make recommendations to the IRS on customer service issues;
• Identify and prioritize taxpayer issues;
• Report annually to the Treasury Dept., the IRS and the National Taxpayer Advocate;
• Participate in meetings where taxpayers are invited to raise issues about their experiences with the IRS; and
• Participate in taxpayer outreach opportunities by speaking to individuals and groups about the panel.

“As the IRS continues to examine taxpayers’ needs in the area of service, the Taxpayer Advocacy Panel has emerged as a vital source for gathering and providing information from the perspective of taxpayers,” said Nina E. Olson, National Taxpayer Advocate. “TAP’s role will ultimately aid taxpayers by helping the IRS to provide them with the top quality service they deserve."

To qualify as a TAP member, applicants must be U.S. citizens and be able to commit 300 to 500 hours during the year to the panel. In addition, they must be current with their tax obligations and pass a criminal background check.

This year the TAP is accepting applications from U.S. citizens who reside in the following locations:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

To apply, complete and submit an application online, at between March 17, 2008 and April 30, 2008. You may also apply by calling 1-888-912-1227 to request a paper application form.

All applications must be received no later than April 30, 2008.

Previous | Next


You can search the entire Tax-News area, or you can search the entire UncleFed's Tax*Board. For a more focused search, put your search word(s) in quotes.


2008 IRS News Releases | News Releases Main | Home