IRS News Release  
November 08, 1999

New Members Selected for the
Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee

WASHINGTON - The Internal Revenue Service announced Monday the selection of five new members for the Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee (ETAAC). The group serves as a public forum for discussion of Electronic Tax Administration issues, supporting the goal of encouraging taxpayers to transact and communicate electronically with the IRS.

Currently, ETAAC is comprised of 17 members, whose two-year terms end in August 2000. The addition of these five new members will ensure continuity when the terms of the current members end. The new members are:

  • Sandra A. Abalos of Phoenix, Ariz. She is president and owner of Abalos and Associates, P.C. Certified Public Accountants, which provides tax and accounting services to individuals and small business. Abalos also serves as a delegate to the White House Conference on Small Business and as the Region IX Taxation Implementation Chair.
  • Theron Gilden of Seneca, S.C. Gilden started his own business, T. Gilden Tax Service, more than 33 years ago. Using his extensive education in computer technology, he pioneered computer-generated tax preparation service, setting a standard for electronic tax preparation.
  • Peter E. Hosokawa of Englewood, Colo. He is president and chief executive officer of CashTax Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of First Data Corporation. CashTax is an out source provider of electronic commerce systems for tax payments, tax filings and other government obligations. The company was the developer and processor of TaxLink and is also the primary subcontractor to Bank of America for the Electronic Federal Tax Payment System (EFTPS).
  • Helen O’Planick of Manchester, Penn., is a partner in HELJAN Associates, which has participated in electronic filing for four years. She is strongly committed to using technology, using electronic filing for more than 70 percent of the returns prepared by her company.
  • John D. Stoller, of Encino, Calif. He is president/CPA of John D. Stoller, CPA, Inc. Stoller’s experience includes four years participating in the IRS electronic filing program. He was recently appointed the chairman of the Los Angeles CPA Society Taxation Committee.

The new members will participate in the next ETAAC meeting, set for Dec. 2 at Washington’s Radisson Barcelo Hotel, 2121 P St. NW.

Previous | Next

1999 IRS News Releases | News Releases Main | Home